Interview with author Fanni Suto

This month, I have Fanni Suto with me. In addition to writing, Fanni is a fan of owls, sloths, street art and a collector of earrings.
FannieSuto

On to our main topic. What do you most enjoy about reading and writing fiction?

The fact that we have the power to change reality. I can make up whole new worlds or I can take ours and bend the rules. I can also show a slice of my world to other people and make them understand me better than it would be possible in other ways.

When you get a writing idea, what is the first thing you do with it?

I make notes, either in Evernote on my phone or in one of my fancy notebooks, ( I keep buying them, I can’t help it!) then I create a Pinterest board, it helps me pin down the mood. (Pun intended… well, sort of.)

Does any part of the story have roots in your own personal life? Was anything in the book inspired by your own personal tales?

Stories of travel, self-discovery and finding our place in the world is very close to my heart.

Fitting in is sometimes very difficult and you have to have the strength not to give up. I’ve been living away from my home country for roughly 2 years now, I lived in the UK and now I live in France. It was my decision so I’m much luckier than the people who have to flee their homes but feeling home is sometimes still difficult. This feeling , I think, is recurrent in my writing. For example, in my urban fantasy novel, Londemonium, I have an immigrant angel who leaves the crumbling and corrupt heaven behind to find a new home in the efficient and liberal (but also cruel and somewhat capitalistic) Hell.

nolan-issac-38299Do you have any strange writing habits or rituals?

I like to have a cup of tea or coffee by my side. I usually forget about it though, so by the time I remember my coffee, it’s usually cold. My strangest and most annoying writing habit is that scenes come to me in a very random order so my stories usually look like strange Frankenstein experiments when I try to patch the parts together.

What cultural value do you place on storytelling?

I think storytelling has an utmost importance. I can’t wait to have children to tell them bedtime stories. In our world which is very product focused and efficiency driven stories might seem outdated or unnecessary. I think, however, that today’s world is a bit like a young child on a rampage. It demands everything it sees and breaks (almost) everything it lays its hand on, what it really needs is a warm hug and stories to teach it about the things that are really important.

More about Fanni:dakota-corbin-211690

Fanni Sütő is a writer, poet, dreamer who believes in fairy tales even if they are dark, disenchanted and deconstructed. She writes about everything which comes in her way or goes bump in the night. She has been published in Hungary, the US, the UK and Australia. She  is very happy to do collaborations, art exchanges, cross-art projects, so if you’re interested in such things, please get in touch on her website and travel blog.

One thought on “Interview with author Fanni Suto

Leave a Reply

