Interview with Author Melion Traverse

My author series continues this month with author Melion Traverse.

photo-1466838931486-92f3b5ff31a6

Let’s start at the beginning. When did you decide to become a writer?

Looks as though we’ll be starting this week with a boring answer: when I was a kid. I didn’t think at the time I wanted to devote myself to a full-fledged career in writing (I still had some unrealistic idea that I would become a veterinarian despite my utter mathematical ineptitude), but writing brought me enjoyment, and I knew I wanted to write at least as a serious hobby.

Speaking of work, what are some of the day jobs you have held? Have any of these influenced your writing?

Let’s see, I’ve been a lifeguard, a student parking enforcement representative, a skip tracer, a background screener for truck drivers, a peon for a state agency, a housecleaner. The unifying thread is that in each of these jobs, people thought I was the person they could yell at because their day had gone to crap.

On a more positive note, each job has offered me the opportunity to meet and interact with a wide array of people. I have real life stories from these jobs that people wouldn’t believe if I wrote them in a novel. However, each of these jobs has helped me see people with a little more complexity, and I think the experiences have strengthened how I write my characters.

Agree 100%. So, what have you written? 

While I’ve written quite a bit, much of my writing has been more for developing my skills than for any real hope of publication. I have had a few pro and semi-pro magazines pick up some of my writing, which has been a gratifying experience and a boost to my confidence. Aside from my short stories, I invest a great deal of time on academic writing and it is . . . er, amusing . . . to see the two distinct writing styles bleed into each other.

At the moment, I’m focused on editing and rewriting a novel that I hope to self-publish in the near future, provided Real Life will stop sneaking up on me (I’m serious, Real Life, get over yourself! You’re not as awesome as you think you are with your bills and your stress and your arbitrary deadlines I keep missing. Sheesh.)

Speaking of editing, what is your favorite way to avoid writing?

Ah, the internet. I never knew that I needed to watch cat videos until I got into writing on the PC. If I were smart, I’d find a computer that cannot connect to the internet and use that for my writing. But I’m not that smart. Besides, I’m resourceful when it comes to the art of procrastination; if it weren’t the internet, I’d find something else.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Besides zany videos? Watching Are You Afraid of the Dark? episodes on YouTube. Man, that was a cheesy show. Still, the episodes are a lot of fun. When I’m tired of being an adult, I make a bowl of ramen noodles, dump in enough hot sauce to turn my nose into a faucet, and watch an episode. Sometimes being an adult has its advantages.

Thanks for chatting with me today, Melion.

treesoverheadBio: Melion Traverse writes things. When not writing things, Melion still lives with one spouse, two dogs and an acceptable amount of chaos. She is occasionally found playing with swords, studying martial arts, and lifting weights. Other times, she hides with a book and an energy drink as she avoids the tumbleweeds of dog hair overwhelming her house. Melion’s short stories have appeared in, or are forthcoming in, Deep Magic, Fantasy Scroll Magazine, Cosmic Roots and Eldritch Shores, Cast of Wonders, Scarlet Leaf Review, Havok, and T. Gene Davis’s Speculative Blog. Check out her haphazard blog.

Leave a Reply

